Newbie - Holly McGuire

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
HollyMcGuire

Post by HollyMcGuire »

I’m an Adult Continuing Studies Student at the University of Tampa, in Tampa, FL. Spring 2014 is my final term before graduating with a Bachelors of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. After graduation, I am pursuing a Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

For one of my final classes, I wanted to do a specialized study project involving recording a book in public domain for LibriVox.org.

At UT, this type of course is referred to as an “Independent Study.” During a previous semester, I took a class involving Oral Presentation of Literature with Dr. Robert Gonzalez, Assistant Professor of Speech and Theatre, at the University of Tampa. Dr. Gonzalez (BobGon55) is an avid LibriVox member and contributor.

Naturally, I approached Dr. Gonzalez with the idea of supervising this project to help improve my skills in spoken word. He immediately stepped up and agreed to mentor me through this project.

I must confess that this project isn’t only for a grade or completely altruistic purposes, as I said, I am a writer and therefore would like hone the skills and knowledge required to record my own books in Audio format.

I would be honored to be a reader, contribute to LibriVox.org and work closely with its members now and in future.

Holly
Last edited by HollyMcGuire on January 24th, 2014, 1:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Hobbit

Post by Hobbit »

Welcome to LibriVox, Holly! We're glad to have you! :D
Between being a full-time college student and working 20+ hours per week, I'm not able to be involved at LV these days, but I remain a loyal fan and look forward to a triumphant return sometime in the (probably distant) future.
HollyMcGuire

Post by HollyMcGuire »

Thank you so much! Looking forward to the challenge.
carolb

Post by carolb »

Ah, Dr Gonzales - we know him well!