A Newbie in all Senses

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
Anadaxis_Canejia

Post by Anadaxis_Canejia »

Hello Everyone!

A friend of mine introduced me to this wonderful site, and I have been listening consistently to some of the great recordings to be found here. My interests are towards literature and philosophy, and I hope to major in one of the two at the university. I am in my first year of college right now and am trying to go through major works in the Western Canon (as perscribed by Harold Bloom) starting with the Bible, Qu'ran, and Illiad/Odyssey. My favourite author is James Joyce, but I just reccently found out that his copyright was extended twenty years later than it would normally have expired for various reasons - most relating to his importance in the world of literature!

Some of my other favourite writers are Nietzsche, Hesse, Dostoyevsky and Kierkegaard. My favourite composer at the moment is Richard Wagner, but I feel myself a mere inchoate in the world of classical music as well, and would love to hear suggestions about your interests in this area!

I look forward to hearing more recordings and hopefully being able to do some myself, best wishes to all of you!
Increscunt animi, virescit volnere virtus.
Kristen

Post by Kristen »

Anadaxis_Canejia wrote: his copyright was extended twenty years later than it would normally have expired for various reasons - most relating to his importance in the world of literature!
Actually, no. It was extended mostly due to the greedy policies of corporations and governments. But don't get me started on that topic.

On a happy note...

Welcome to LibriVox. Glad you are enjoying the recordings. If you'd like to "proof listen" to the recordings before they are released to the pubic, that would be a wonderful help. You can find them listed in the Listeners and Editors Wanted section of the forums.
Kristen
http://www.mediatinker.com