a belated introduction

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
jbieber

Post by jbieber »

Well, I have been knocking around librivox for a couple of months now and never got around to introducing myself. I'm forty-something and I teach for a living. I did a few fables and collaborative chapters and then plunged into solo works, having completed two so far which may seem like a bizarre pairing to some: Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz and a short work called "The Romance of Rubber." I am a long time but somewhat lapsed Oz fan and reading out loud seemed like a good way to reacquaint myself with the writings of L. Frank Baum. I am currently recording Sky Island, also by Baum, but I hope to do some non-fiction works as well. I like children's literature of all kinds, history, political commentary, and travel narratives. Austen too, but there's not much left of that to be done.

I found out about librivox from a travel tip submitted to the editor in Arthur Frommer's Budget Travel magazine (I believe it was the February issue?). I thought I'd download some books to play in the car and some additional titles for a relative who is disabled. Then I thought it was unfair to take without giving back so I volunteered.

I also speak fluent Brazilian Portuguese and I can get by in Spanish if those skills should ever come in handy.

Great concept and great community. Thanks librivoxers, especially Rainer, my ever patient MC.

Judy[/quote]
Last edited by jbieber on June 19th, 2006, 11:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
"To please a child is a sweet and lovely thing that warms one's heart and brings its own reward." L. Frank Baum
KATWAL

Post by KATWAL »

Greetings back at you Judy!

Looks like your Portuguese will come in handy for Librivox! (noting the other person who is fluent and interested in Portuguese lit.)