Old Radio Shows: Good Idea?

Suggest and discuss books to read (all languages welcome!)
Jair

Post by Jair »

I'm a huge fan of old radio shows and would really like to do some projects from that era. I have found a treasure trove of scripts from shows like mystery theater to father knows best. Comedies, dramas, mysteries, etc... I have alot of free time and wuold be willing and able to add the sound effects after the sections are recorded. I work in the broadcast industry and have all sorts of things at my fingertips to use in production.
annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise »

It would be fun - it has been suggested before. It is quite difficult to show that these things are PD - it is much easier to show copyright was registered and or renewed than that it wasn't . All Librivox recordings are released into the public domain and things like music and sound effects have proved in the past to be very difficult in this regard. We don't have lawyers and we don't want to be sued.
This is not a NO just an indication of the pitfalls.
I'm moving this to book suggestions - we keep the Launch Pad for projects ready to go.

Anne
Jair

Post by Jair »

Yep, I know there would be issues with some things, but I'd only do the things that are definitely public, and as far as sound effects and music...I wouldn't use any canned material, I'd create whatever was needed myself.
BellonaTimes

Post by BellonaTimes »