Idea for a Universal History... by Kant

Suggest and discuss books to read (all languages welcome!)
Mittee

Post by Mittee »

The full name is : Idea for a Universal History from a Cosmopolitan Point of View, by Immanual Kant.

I am a final year philosophy student in Sydney, Australia. Kant is among my favorites, and since this essay must be out of copyright I am wondering if there is someone who could tell me if I would be allowed to record this.

It is a short piece, less than a hundred pages.
lezer

Post by lezer »

Hi Mittee,

To start off with: Welcome to Librivox!

Well, the main thing to check for you, to see if you could record the text for the Librivox catalog, is whether it is in the public domain.

All our texts have to be in the public domain in the US (where the Librivox catalog is stationed) as well as in the country you are recording in. So if you are planning to read the original text by Kant that should be fine. But it also holds for translations: so basically, the translation should be published before 1923.

When you find such a public domain translation, then you are very welcome to record it for Librivox. I hope you do!

Regards,
Anna

PS
To see more about public domain etc, try here: http://librivox.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=881 and http://librivox.org/wiki/moin.cgi/CopyrightAndPublicDomain

To learn more about doing the actual recording: http://librivox.org/wiki/moin.cgi/NewbieGuideToRecording

I'll move this thread to Book Suggestions for now - once you are all ready to start the work as a solo of your own, you can launch it in the Launch Pad, for more information see: http://librivox.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13513
Starlite

Post by Starlite »

Hi Mittee, if you can find a public domain text online, post it here for the PD gurus to check it out then off to recording. We do ask that new readers do a few shorter pieces before embarking on a solo.