Some Books that Aren't in the Public Domain (and why)

Suggest and discuss books to read (all languages welcome!)
Cori

Post by Cori »

All the books mentioned in this thread have been suggested at one time or another, but they aren't legal to record here at LibriVox -- to keep the forum tidy, I've made them into a list below, and put in the relevant copyright information.

This is not a complete list of books that have been suggested, but it does have some of the more often-requested titles.

All copyright info is my understanding of it, as it applies to LibriVox but I am not a lawyer, so please use this as guidance and do your own checking if desired. Also, it is all current as of January 2019, but that's not to say the law in the US won't change again. :roll:
Only US law is mentioned - read here for why.

Books by Agatha Christie -- Some of her books, including The Mysterious Affair at Styles, The Secret Adversary, The Murder on the Links and The Secret of Chimneys, are in the US public domain. The first two have been recorded for LibriVox, but her estate disputed the legality of that, since the site was founded (and the domain name owned) by a Canadian. Christie's estate had taken an issue with this technicality and approached Hugh (the founder of LV). LV was threatened with legal action at the time if we did not remove the recordings -- even though the files were stored in the US, as all our files are, at archive.org. Since Christie died in 1976, her works will be PD in Canada at the start of 2047, and LibriVox should be safe at that point to record all her works published before 1952 (because US copyright law is in play too, of course -- covering everything published 95+ years before 2047.)

1984 by George Orwell
First published in 1949, US copyright will expire in 2045. (Because Orwell died in 1950, this book is already out of copyright in some countries, including Canada and Australia. See link above for more about LibriVox geography, though!)